Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Carlos Chaves's Meditacion  (Read 4052 times)

Offline aragonaise

• PS Silver Member
Carlos Chaves's Meditacion
on: December 07, 2005, 09:06:49 AM
Hi all.

Am preparing this piece for one of Trinity Grade 8's 3 pieces. Please feel free to comment and rate it out of 20!

As required, I also need to give a short presentation of my piece. As I have never done any musical analysis before, this is what I've come up with (after some research).

•   Carlos Chavez was a 20th century composer . He was born in a time when a wave of nationalistic fervour was sweeping across the whole world. His childhood years were were influenced by the turbulence of the 1910 Revolution in Mexico. Naturally, his musical influence took on a very nationalistic flavour. There was an especially strong Aztec flavour to his music.

Written in F# minor at an Adagio pace of 58, the piece Meditacion calls for a very meditative and somewhat melancholic mood. The RH plays out a very beautiful motif which repeats itself in various forms while the LH beats out mournful sounds that seems to ring in from the distance.  The Aztec influence is striking. In Aztec music, there is a flute called the 'pito' which is played in one hand, while playing a small drum with the other.

There are lots of modulations in the piece. But the piece keeps to a harmonic minor core. Towards the middle, the minor chords which give rise to lots of tensions resolve themselves in 2 bars of fortessimo Piu Mosso passage. After which, the sombre mood begins to clear and for the first time, the piece modulates to a major key: F#  Major.