Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Godowsky-Strauss: Fledermaus  (Read 5871 times)

Offline sjskb

• PS Silver Member
Godowsky-Strauss: Fledermaus
on: February 01, 2007, 07:25:30 AM
Hi...

hope you guys like this rendition of fledermaus... feel free to leave any comments and criticisms.... :D

thank you

regards,
sjskb

Offline ronde_des_sylphes

• PS Silver Member
Re: Godowsky-Strauss: Fledermaus
Reply #1 on: February 02, 2007, 07:50:40 PM
Really impressive. I don't have the score to hand, nor have I studied this piece, so I'll leave it a few general comments.

There's a lot of control in this performance; the lines come across clearly, despite the difficulties of projecting them when there's so much other texture around. There's a nice feel for the general aspects of the genre - your playing seems sympathetic to the music. The piano sound isn't quite as mellow as I think it should be, but I don't feel that is your fault; your rubati and little details suggest to me that you know what you're aiming for.

Congrats, this is very difficult music.. I hope more people to take the time to listen to it.
My website - www.andrewwrightpianist.com
Info and samples from my first commercial album - https://youtu.be/IlRtSyPAVNU
My SoundCloud - https://soundcloud.com/andrew-wright-35

Offline jakev2.0

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 02, 2007, 08:02:19 PM
It sounds professional.  My only complaint is that the performance lacks dynamic variety. You handle the difficulties very well, and your rubato and phrasing is excellent. Needs more piano-pianissimo to contrast with the loud sections, though!  :)