Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Kawai vs K.Kawai vs Shigeru Kawai  (Read 23372 times)

Offline mitch24

• PS Silver Member
Kawai vs K.Kawai vs Shigeru Kawai
on: September 03, 2005, 10:34:00 PM
Can someone help differenciate these brands.  Like are they all the same or what?

Offline pianobil

• PS Silver Member
Re: Kawai vs K.Kawai vs Shigeru Kawai
Reply #1 on: September 04, 2005, 06:05:33 PM
Dear Mitch,

I don't know the difference between K. Kawai and Kawai, if there is any, but the Shigeru Kawais are a truly high end piano.  I am a competitive pianist, and in a recent competition in Japan, I was offered the choice of performing on one of four pianos - a Yamaha, a Bosendorfer, a Steinway, and a Shigeru Kawai.  Though I went with the Steinway at the end, I was torn between the Steinway and the Shigeru, and found mysely quite surprised at the indecision.  My entire life until that choice, I had always found Steinway to be the only choice.  (I do suppose every now and then a Bosendorfer or Bechstein will fit a particular piece well, but there's just that great security on a Steinway.)

Anyway, abuot the Shigerus, I have not yet ween one outside of Japan.  However, upon Baldwin doing out of business, Earl Wild switched his sponsorship from Baldwin to Kawai, so if he plays a concert near you soon, you can probably bet that it will be on a Shigeru Kawai.  (What his personal problem was with Steinway, I do not know, but he has long avoided them.)

Hope that helps answer any questions...

Best,
Bill

Offline happyface94

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 07:50:00 PM