Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Mozart Sonata in C K 545  (Read 3988 times)

Offline Chad

• PS Silver Member
Mozart Sonata in C K 545
on: August 12, 2003, 10:48:34 PM
I am new to the piano and I was looking on the internet for sheet music.  I came across Mozart's Sonata in C.  This is one of my favorite pieces of all time.  

I looked at the skill level and it said beginner/easy.  Is this really a piece a complete beginner should try to learn.  I would say it is at least intermediate.  I have seen much easier pieces on the internet that carry the same skill level rating and also pieces that are much easier that Sonata in C that are at least intermediate.

What would you guys rate Mozart's Sonata in C as? Would you rate it as beginner, intermediate, or hard?

Thanks  ;)

Offline RiskyP

• PS Silver Member
Re: Mozart Sonata in C K 545
Reply #1 on: August 12, 2003, 11:34:05 PM
Chad, I am a beginner myself (started 5 months ago) and I am giving this piece a second try after a teribbly difficult first time around. I am now making more progress, but it is still difficult for me. I also think that this piece is more intermediate than beginner.

I don't know how much technique you have aquired already, but I can tell you that just 2 months ago I struggled so much with this piece that I completely let it go until recently. It is definitely not for a beginner, that is, not for someone who has been playing for less than a year... I'm sure everyone will agree with that. Nonetheless, I will continue to try because I like the piece.