Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Rachmaninov's Prelude in C# Minor  (Read 5443 times)

Offline elisianna

• PS Silver Member
Rachmaninov's Prelude in C# Minor
on: September 13, 2006, 01:25:43 PM
  Ever since I first heard that piece, it's been a goal of mine to learn it, not only to learn it, but to actually play it very well. (I know some people say "Oh I learned 'such and such'" but they really kinda suck at it =P).

I've been playing for 3 years now and I just finished my Grade 8 (RCM).  I was planning on only doing grade 9, but since I need grade 10 pieces for University auditions my teacher decided to let me do both grades at the same time. (I think 9 and 10 are like the 7 and 8 most of you go by XD)

He gave me some pieces to work on from both grades, one of them is Rachmaninov's Op. 3 "Melody". (You can imagine how excited I was to finally play something by my favourite composer =) )