Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Starting playing Schumann  (Read 17192 times)

Offline kghayesh

• PS Silver Member
Starting playing Schumann
on: June 29, 2007, 12:22:08 AM
Hi,
I have been playing for 5 years. I played much music from different composers, but i never played Schumann before. I want to play something by him and I told my teacher. She suggested I may try the Carnaval op.9. I am asking about other pieces that can give me a glimpse of Schumann's style.

To tell you an idea about my playing, I play Chopin's G minor Ballade, Etudes no.10,12 op.10 Scriabin Etude no.12 in D# minor, Mendelssohn's fantaisies op.16.... and others.

Offline amelialw

• PS Silver Member
Re: Starting playing Schumann
Reply #1 on: June 29, 2007, 01:45:55 AM
hey don't worry about that, I've learned the piano for 17 years but only started Schumann at the beginning of June...his works are really exquisive& lovely but they can be pretty challenging
J.S Bach Italian Concerto,Beethoven Sonata op.2 no.2,Mozart Sonatas K.330&333,Chopin Scherzo no.2,Etude op.10 no.12&Fantasie Impromptu

Offline prongated

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: June 29, 2007, 02:09:47 AM
Try the Romances op. 28 or the Blumenstucke op. 19, then perhaps the Faschingsschwank aus Wien or something from the Phantasiestucke op. 12 like "Aufschwung". Finally, Papillons op. 1 (?) is a good introduction to how Schumann structured "mini" character pieces into a single work. Carnaval also featured some themes from this work.