Piano Forum

Topic: Prelude in C# minor - rachmaninov Practice  (Read 4454 times)

Offline aslanov

• PS Silver Member
Prelude in C# minor - rachmaninov Practice
on: October 23, 2008, 08:51:07 PM
hey guys, as per my other posts im 10 months self-taught, and i havent had a teacher so i'd like some constructive criticism. i realize that last segment is meant to be played powerfully and accelerating too but rite now im still in the progress of getting it down to accuracy/speed.

Offline lau

• PS Silver Member
Re: Prelude in C# minor - rachmaninov Practice
Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 08:59:51 PM
nice for 10 months. In the beginning with those fff notes i think you held the 3rd one a bit too long before the ppp chords. During the ppp section i would try to bring out the pinky/5th finger in the right hand a bit more.
i'm not asian

Offline aslanov

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 10:20:09 PM
ooh, k, i was confused for a sec cuz u said fff and ppp but in my notes its ff and pp. lol. yeah i know im trying to find the optimal pause for effect and just experimenting with different lengths to see which sounds better, any thoughts on that? not in concordance to the technical timing but for effect.

Offline j.s. bach the 534th

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: October 23, 2008, 10:52:05 PM
very good for 10 months. I am self-taught for 6 months, and without even trying I know I would struggle with that. I have to agree with lau that you held out the third chord a bit too long, though. Other than that, awesome!

Offline alessandro

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: October 24, 2008, 11:34:47 AM
For me it is more than very good or nice for 'ten months'...  I should say it is rather unbelievable - you must have played like hours a day to reach this level, a lot of endurance, very intensive studying.