Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Sorabji Opus Clavicembalisticum - Fantasia  (Read 8388 times)

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Sorabji Opus Clavicembalisticum - Fantasia
on: January 20, 2009, 05:22:06 AM
Here is a midi I made several years ago when I studied this movement of the OC (since no good recordings existed and I wanted to hear what it sounded like). Some errors not that anyone without the score would notice ;) This is one of my favorite parts of the OC. I find it enjoyable to watch notes play across the screen on a MIDI especially for more complicated stuff.
"The biggest risk in life is to take no risk at all."
www.pianovision.com

Offline yuc4h

• PS Silver Member
Re: Sorabji Opus Clavicembalisticum - Fantasia
Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 06:37:03 AM
That actually sounded kinda cool :­D

I took the liberty to resample your midi to make it more pleasant to listen to.

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 06:43:05 AM
Hey thanks for that sounds very neat although a bit different ;) ! To accent notes I put 2 notes in the same position, it causes a louder sound in the midi. The sample seems to make these note staccato in places for some reason.
www.pianovision.com

Offline Etude

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 08:05:04 AM
That can be avoided by placing the two notes in a different MIDI channels, but with actual samples theres not much need for the extra notes.

Oh, and cool MIDI.  :)

Offline ahinton