Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Have Perfect Pitch But Can't Transpose-Help!  (Read 5437 times)

Offline baton999

• PS Silver Member
Have Perfect Pitch But Can't Transpose-Help!
on: August 02, 2009, 11:40:46 PM
Hi - I'm a professional pianist, keyboardist, which means I get paid to play, and have been doing so for over 40 years. Problem-I have perfect pitch. I see a note or a chord symbol on paper, and I hear it in my head. Major problem, no pun intended. By the time I've figured out that the Fm7 or the Eb should be played up a minor third, I'm three bars behind! And, of all things, I was a theory major at a very fine liberal arts college conservatory of music. Any suggestions, prayers, or help would be most appreciated...

Thanks in advance...

Bo
baton999@comcast.net
ax2music.com
signaturesmusic.com

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Re: Have Perfect Pitch But Can't Transpose-Help!
Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 12:10:32 AM
I've heard of that happening before.

The only thing I can think of is to ignore what you hear and focus more on the intellectual side of it, maybe just practice thinking through progressions without playing them (or hearing them in your mind).  Or train your mind to accept that you see one thing on paper, think a certain, and then produce a different sound -- So yes, it's not the same sound as what's written, but the mind can 'hear it' transposed.