Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Solfeggietto - practice approach?  (Read 6564 times)

Offline sharmayelverton

• PS Silver Member
Solfeggietto - practice approach?
on: December 03, 2009, 11:48:15 PM
Hi guys,

I've been playing piano for about 10 years but have largely focused on jazz and have allot of technical groundwork missing. One thing in particular is I struggle with is the kind of speed and even weighting of fingers needed to play C P E Bach's 'Solfeggietto', which is precisely why I decided to try and play it. I now know the piece inside out with all the correct fingering can can play it well at about  100bpm, (and by well I mean smoothly, evenly, quite, loud, ) however when I speed it up much it it gets rushed and uneven. I've spent quite allot of time going through it slowly and have started playing Hannon exercises to work on the evenness of my fingers. But can anyone give any further advice on how to practice this piece (or other similar pieces that might help) in order to play it evenly and fast.

Thanks guys.
Keynote Sounds - Piano Lessons North London[/url]
now free video lessons and advice when on our  blog[/url]

Offline alysosha

• PS Silver Member
Re: Solfeggietto - practice approach?
Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 12:53:52 AM