Piano Forum

Topic: How much do YOU charge?  (Read 19395 times)

Offline alissa14

• PS Silver Member
How much do YOU charge?
on: January 03, 2010, 10:19:54 PM
This is my 7th year to teach piano and voice lessons and I'm looking to give myself a raise.  I work full-time as an elementary school teacher and have my bachelors degree in music education.  How long have you been teaching and how much do you charge?  What do you think would be a fair rate for me to charge?  I do not have to pay for studio time so everything from my lessons is profit.

Thanks for your thoughts!!!
Alissa

Offline canardroti

• PS Silver Member
Re: How much do YOU charge?
Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 09:27:09 AM
We need more detail, where are you located? This will determine how much people charge around your area.
I have been teaching piano for 4 years and about to get a Bacherlor's in music education.
I charge 40$/ hour and I live in southern California.

Offline penguinlover

Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 06:51:55 AM
I live in So Cal also, but in a poorer area.  That would be far too high a price for my people!  A local music studio in the area is charging $75 a month, but I don't know how many students they are attracting.  I charge considerably less than that.  I have even bartered for lessons when money was really tight.

Offline jenny62

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: March 17, 2010, 07:20:05 PM