Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: How to study polyrhythms?  (Read 9050 times)

Offline brace77

• PS Silver Member
How to study polyrhythms?
on: January 26, 2010, 01:48:21 PM
Hi. Which is the best way of practicing polyrhythms?

I am studying now Chopin's Preludes, and in n.1 for example there are 3 bars of 5 vs 6.

I studied Fantasie Impromptu, but I cannot say how I did it. Juts by trying and trying until one day the rhythm "unlocked" and I could play it. But the less I think to single notes the best the effect. I just think of the main beats and let the fingers flow.

But which is the correct approach?

I think there is a difference between fast and slow tempos. Because in fast tempos it is easy not to think to individual notes, while in slow tempos (like many chopin nocturnes) it is not possible.

So which is the professional way (or ways) to study them?

By polyrhythm in this topic I mean one rhythm per hand.

The only polyrhythm I master slow is 2 vs 3. I can tap with my hands 3 vs 4 but I don't master it slow.

Anyway I feel 3 vs 4 may be mastered because it is quite logical, but what to do in 11 vs 12 or similar cases?

Thanks.

Note: I have an organ degree and play piano for fun, anyway I have a good technical level, even if some areas of piano technique are not mastered by me being it not my main instrument.

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Re: How to study polyrhythms?
Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 02:10:56 PM
Find the common (sub)division between the two rhythms or have each part down well enough that you don't have to think and can play them together.  Those are the two ways I know.