Piano Forum

Topic: What's the best way to play Chopin's etude Op10n12?  (Read 7353 times)

Offline gustavob

• PS Silver Member
What's the best way to play Chopin's etude Op10n12?
on: March 04, 2011, 07:19:53 AM
I'm a newbie in piano technique and i need a list on which methods i should study in order to play Chopin's etude Op10n12.

Thanks in advance

Offline seanramon

• PS Silver Member
Re: What's the best way to play Chopin's etude Op10n12?
Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 02:25:02 PM
Chopin's Opus 10, number 12 involves the folliwng technuqies: scales, and arpeggios with syncopation.

Firstly, except for two places (bars 75 and 80), the tempo should remain constant throughout (and this is no easy task). Secondly, although the marking only appears once (bar 81), it is suggested that as well as playing allegro con fuoco you should also add appassionato to this piece overall. Also, this work should better be played throughout with no sustaining pedal.

A study guide to this piece, as well as for the other Opus 10 parts, can be found   here..

Offline pianisten1989

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 02:26:12 PM
If you are a noob in technique, don't start with this piece. It will take you forever, and you will probably get hurt..

Offline stevebob

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 03:08:53 PM
I'm a newbie in piano technique and i need a list on which methods i should study in order to play Chopin's etude Op10n12.

Thanks in advance

A couple of things in your post are unclear.

• What does “newbie in piano technique” mean in practical terms?  How much experience do you have with piano and to what level of proficiency?

• By “a list on which methods  I should study,” are you referring to specific manners of practice or specific types of practice routines?  Or do you want an inventory of the specific techniques employed in this piece?