Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: ''Show Pieces''  (Read 12634 times)

Offline chopinlover23

• PS Silver Member
''Show Pieces''
on: May 28, 2011, 01:09:51 PM
I wouldn't say I'm a Virtuoso Pianist or anything but I'm preparing for a competition next year.. Can anyone please suggest me some ''Show-Pieces'' or piano pieces that really captivate the audience and the judges..... nothing for virtuoso, but for an advanced student. I'm considering Solfeggietto by C.P.E Bach and Revolutionary Etude by Chopin.... as for the concerto part, something manageable.

Luke

Thanks!! :) CHECK the quotes for what I'm working on =D
Dr. Gradus ad Parnassum by Debussy and Capriccio from the C minor Partita by J.S. Bach

Offline gerryjay

• PS Silver Member
Re: ''Show Pieces''
Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 01:53:42 PM
dear luke,
how many time available do you have? how many pieces you want/must play? i ask you that because there are tons of possibilities out there, and i wonder about what will help you most, imho.
best regards,
jay.

Offline chopinlover23

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 28, 2011, 02:01:11 PM
For the 1st round a 15 minute performance free choice of repertoire as long as it is a high level piece and from the different era of music
2nd round a 30 minute recital, again same rules apply as for the 1st round
3rd round we'll be playing a complete concerto of our choice or based on the suggested ones with an accompanist.

Luke