Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Revolutionary Etude (Op10 #12)  (Read 3032 times)

Offline c_vince

• PS Silver Member
Chopin Revolutionary Etude (Op10 #12)
on: August 22, 2004, 03:35:23 AM
I am an ARCT student in RCM (wonder if any of you know what it is).

I started playing this piece in the beginning of this year, and I still have problems playing it...

I practice it very regularly, and I try hard to fix my problems, but I still can't get it to sound (technically) the way I want it to sound.

My left hand is always tired when I place this piece, and I always break down around the middle (where the beginning returns).. Its really bugging me, because I'm in love with a piece I cannot play... My left hand doesn't want to go as fast as I'd like it,  and regardless of how much I practice this thing, I can't get it to go fast enough, and end up getting super tired near the middle...

does anybody have any pointers of how to practice the piece? My teacher tells me to relax, but with all these fast notes... I can only relax till around the end of the first page.

Thank you for all your help, and hecking with my appologetic nature (I know.. its a problem)

Offline Pumpkinhead

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin Revolutionary Etude (Op10 #12)
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2004, 11:00:31 AM