Piano Forum

Topic: How in the world do you teach a three year old?  (Read 15130 times)

Offline rachmaninoff_forever

• PS Silver Member
How in the world do you teach a three year old?
on: February 02, 2012, 12:45:34 AM
I've heard of people who are like, "oh yeah I've been playing piano for like 150 years.  I started a couple hours after birth".  How does someone manage to teach like a two or three year old? 

Cause I mean, they're like babies and can't reach the pedal!  I also would think that they wouldn't focus their attention on the piano and like daze off.
Live large, die large.  Leave a giant coffin.

Offline ajspiano

• PS Silver Member
Re: How in the world do you teach a three year old?
Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 01:15:58 AM
I don't actually teach anyone that young..

But my approach would probably center around teaching basic musical concepts more extensively than I would with someone older..

clapping in time
clapping rhythms
alphabet games (ie. what comes 2 letters after B?)
simple piano concepts like loud and soft
high sounds, low sounds..

keyboard layout (find a group of 2 black keys, now find another one..  which might first involve ensuring the child knows how to count to 2 and recognise groups of 2)

Offline cjp_piano

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 02, 2012, 05:43:38 PM
You don't really teach "piano" to a 3 year old, but you can have them experience music in a group class. That's probably the best scenario.

Offline elza

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 09:56:03 PM
Reading this thread I cannot stop myself from writing of my own experience on this subject.