Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Best methods for teaching note identification on the staves?  (Read 6934 times)

Offline lily2

• PS Silver Member
Hello all,
I am new to this forum.  I have been teaching individual piano lessons full-time now for about 5 years.  I see about 25 students per week, many of them children ages 5-18 and some adults in their 20s and beyond to older adult.  I have taught in small music schools and music shops in addition to my private students. 

I have a degree in music and music education, and even hold my state's licensure to teach in public schools (which I am not doing currently).  Throughout all this education, and in my practicum, I never learned the best methods to teach staff notation.  What I do is use what my very first piano teacher did -- showing the two staves and explaining how lines and spaces work, and FACE and EGBDF, etc.  Fortunately for me, learning the staff came fairly easy and naturally to me, and I was able to use key identifier notes like middle C and treble G, as well as bass C and G below middle C.  Not to say I didn't struggle at all, but it was pretty straightforward to me.