Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Piano Practice (Personals, Tips, Questions, etc.)  (Read 4975 times)

Offline ren_marq

• PS Silver Member
Piano Practice (Personals, Tips, Questions, etc.)
on: November 09, 2013, 02:53:03 PM
Hello fellow pianists! New member here.  :)

I can't say I'm an advance student. I'm 15. I love Classical Music. I got my first formal piano lesson last year. I've been very serious and crazy over this instrument. I really love to practice. When my teacher gave me a John Thompson book, my feelings for this instrument intensified. Two months later, my teacher gave me Clemente Sonatinas which I actually like. I started discovering the vast world of music. I practice Baroque, Classical, Romantic (Chopin FTW!), and a little bit of contemporary.

I usually spend 6-9 hours in practicing starting with scales and arpeggios from Hanon. I took the preface seriously believing this will improve my technicality. But I've been seeing a lot of posts saying "Scales and arpeggios will not improve piano technicality.", "Etudes are better.", "Don't spend too much time time in practicing...", something like that. That's why I made this thread to help me and similar students to gather tips and suggestions from pianists around this global community. Everybody can share! The questions below can serve as your guide.

1. How to the make most of your piano practice?
2. How to improve technicality, interpretation, memorization, sight reading skill, etc.?
3. What are your tips and suggestions in practicing?
4. What's your daily piano routine?
5. What do you think are the daily habits that can make you a good pianist?