Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: How to study for the technichal side of piano?  (Read 1547 times)

Offline 100mm

How to study for the technichal side of piano?
on: April 11, 2014, 05:03:07 PM
Hi everyone!! First of all I would like to introduce you to my problem:  ;D

I got piano lessons when I was eight, I was pretty ok I guess but just like most of the kids, I got bored easily and I stopped playing it. Recently I started playing again and I have no problem reading the notes, rhythm etc. and though I'm slow at smoothing out the kinks in my performance, I can eventually get it moderately right somehow.

But this time I'm a bit more serious about playing piano and I want to learn the theoretical part too, instead of having to search for info everytime I see something new in a note sheet.

Can you suggest me a good book, or maybe websites if you know any, for learning scales, keys, arpeggios etc.? I do not have a teacher and I don't really think I can afford one right now either and I never really got any lessons on music theory or anything but I really want to learn everything I can teach myself at home and I'm ready to give my hours to it.

Big big thanks to everyone who helps!! :)

Offline schwartzer

Re: How to study for the technichal side of piano?
Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 08:18:24 PM
You can easily find scales, chords and key names on wikipedia.