Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Schoenberg's Theory of Harmony--Help with Exercises?  (Read 4851 times)

Offline gifgaffegiraffe

I've been working with Arnold Schoenberg's seminal "Theory of Harmony" text on my own, not with a teacher--I'm basically working towards an apprenticeship but the composer wants me to finish this first; having been self-taught, I have a spotty knowledge of theory. This is actually my second time reading it, I had foolishly neglected to do the exercises on my first go round and now I'm doing them studiously (and, unsurprisingly, understanding and retaining things much better).

For those of you who know the text I'm in Chapter 7: Directions for Better Progressions. He's finally teaching form, having you write with consideration to the root progressions, rather than just working out a voice leading difficulty. I'm pretty sure I understand the concept of ascending and descending progressions ("ascending" would be the rising of tension--though not necessarily through dissonance--while descending progressions lead to cadences; I'm basically operating under the assumption that you should only approach III and V with the "ascending intervals" he defines, approach other chords either with ascending or descending intervals, and then only use descending intervals on descending progressions i.e. the cadence. Please correct me if I'm wrong here), but I'm having issues setting up the exercises.