Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Practice  (Read 1353 times)

Offline pianoplayer51

• PS Silver Member
Practice
on: April 14, 2014, 12:00:00 AM
Sorry if this has been mentioned before, but how much should you practice?   Especially when it comes to exam time?

I am studying for my exam where I have to play a range of scales, three pieces (each piece two pages long) and do an aural as well as a little sight read test.

Today I decided to dedicate my practice/study to my three pieces.   I played them in no particular order in the book.   I played the first one a couple of times and then went on to play the next one and played that once and the third and final one I played twice.

I then went back over the first one to  brush up some bits that I thought needed brushing up (I only did the brushing up bars) and then played it once again from beginning to end to see if it was better than the previous time.

Then I took a little break for an hour or so and returned to the pieces and played them again.

All in all I put in a LOT of hours of study (not all at once  ;D)

They say you should not practice more than half hour a day but if you compare it to orchestras and pianists who play professionally with orchestras, I would bet they spend most of a day going over and over practicing and rehearsing for their concert so they put in hours of work too.

But they are used to playing for very long periods day after day (especially when they go on tour).