Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Scales with two hands - finger question  (Read 1432 times)

Offline dancook

Scales with two hands - finger question
on: July 29, 2014, 09:48:44 AM
I'm new to scale practice, I'm starting with E Major.

I'm already feeling pretty fast on the left, and lightning quick on the right  8)

But when I put them together, I'm really fighting not to cross over my thumb and forefinger on my right hand to match the digits used on my left half way through the scale.

I assume I should iron this out, and not accept it?

I only ask, because I didn't want to fight it to find out that it's an acceptable alternative or something..

Thanks

Offline pianoplunker

• PS Silver Member
Re: Scales with two hands - finger question
Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 12:05:45 PM
I'm new to scale practice, I'm starting with E Major.

I'm already feeling pretty fast on the left, and lightning quick on the right  8)

But when I put them together, I'm really fighting not to cross over my thumb and forefinger on my right hand to match the digits used on my left half way through the scale.

I assume I should iron this out, and not accept it?

I only ask, because I didn't want to fight it to find out that it's an acceptable alternative or something..

Thanks