Piano Forum

Topic: Why do pianos sound so clean?  (Read 1594 times)

Offline mjames

• PS Silver Member
Why do pianos sound so clean?
on: August 01, 2014, 07:04:06 PM
I started playing not too long and I'm one of those people who started playing after listening to studio recordings. I started learning piano on an electronic one so the first time I touched a real one I was surprised. They sound err, rougher than recordings and I thought not might have something to do with the condition it was in, but I still managed to get my hands on some pretty high quality ones and they still sound err ROUGH. Do studios edit the music to the point where it gives it the super clean sound or are the pianos just really...err polished?  Personally I like the roughness. Are modern piano recordings heavily edited?

Offline thalbergmad

• PS Silver Member
Re: Why do pianos sound so clean?
Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 07:16:25 PM
Are modern piano recordings heavily edited?

Indeed, but so were piano rolls. It has been done since the dawn of recording history.

Many modern performances just sound a bit to clinical to my ears. They sound as sterilised as a surgeon's theatre. Perhaps older recordings are a bit more honest and therefore more pleasing.

However, when you have the like of Hamelin or Schiff playing, you are going to get the midi effect.

Thal
Curator/Director
Concerto Preservation Society

Offline hotchpotch

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 01, 2014, 07:55:33 PM
Obviously (and rightly) ivory cannot be used these days, but I find there is an enormous difference playing on ivory keys.  There is a 'life' and softness to the touch that seems to 'connect' far more than the modern keys.  Maybe it's just my imagination but I always play with far more feeling and enjoyment on ivory keys.

Does anyone have any opinions?

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: August 02, 2014, 01:38:00 AM