Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Elitism in music (rant)  (Read 2118 times)

Offline mjames

• PS Silver Member
Elitism in music (rant)
on: October 13, 2014, 02:48:51 AM
Some dude on youtube just out-right called somebody (and me) a retard for typing out Rach instead of Rachmaninov. Wrote a paragraph (you guys do this too) about it: blah blah I studied rach my whole life  blah blah how dare you ruin his image by abbreviating his name blah blah respect him.

Seriously, just *** off.

Offline j_menz

• PS Silver Member
Re: Elitism in music (rant)
Reply #1 on: October 13, 2014, 03:08:56 AM
So? A commenter on YT said something stupid/offensive?  :o

BTW, the real elitists call him Sergei Vasilievich.
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility. There are so few of us left" -- Oscar Levant

Offline mjames

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 13, 2014, 03:13:38 AM
So? A commenter on YT said something stupid/offensive?  :o

True........

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: October 13, 2014, 03:45:02 AM
It's perfectly fine to shorten long names and use nicknames when talking about composers. Those peopole just don't belong to the inner circle so have to be formal. For me they are just Fred, Dommy, Scribby, Johnny, Eddy or just one of the Bs, and they are all quite ok with that.

Offline j_menz

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: October 13, 2014, 03:49:30 AM
Scribby

:o

I've always called him Lexie.