Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Complete Beginner question: What keyboard.  (Read 1739 times)

Offline otakucko

Complete Beginner question: What keyboard.
on: October 25, 2014, 07:31:28 AM
I started learning piano 3 weeks ago on a rly rly old Armonpiano

But its showing its age, no touch sensitivity,some keys/notes doesnt always work. So im planning on buying a new one but before i buy it i wanted to ask some pros about they opinion.I heard that its optimal if your keyboard has the full 88 keys and touchsenivity so i searched a low budget one and found the "M-audio Keystation 88" and the "Alesis Q 88" are they good for a beginner? Or you guys know other keyboards better suited for a beginner.

(sorry about my grammar,english is not my native language.)

Offline nystul

• PS Silver Member
Re: Complete Beginner question: What keyboard.
Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 02:45:03 PM
The models you listed are MIDI keyboard controllers.  They don't have instrument sounds on the unit itself.  They only work if you run them through some kind of sound module.  That usually means hooking it up to a computer and running some kind of music production software on the computer.