Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: An amateur take on Scriabin's 5th Sonata  (Read 2388 times)

Offline pazzi

An amateur take on Scriabin's 5th Sonata
on: October 27, 2014, 02:20:56 AM
Hello all! I'm 24, and I'm a self taught amateur (had a teacher for 2 months) and have been playing for 4 years and some months.

I would like to share with other musicians my amateur take on this sonata, since I haven't show anybody before, except my parents, which don't like it, I posted on facebook as well but I think nobody there cares too hahaha.

Also I would be glad with any advices you could share!

Recorded with my notebook camera on a Yamaha P95 (there are some awkward sounds from my pedal, chair and cars in the street)

Thanks in advance
I'll probably keep working on it for some more months

Offline amytsuda

• PS Silver Member
Re: An amateur take on Scriabin's 5th Sonata
Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 12:41:12 PM
Just out of my curiosity, if you can self teach this so well within only 4 years, why don't you actually get a teacher and try to become really good? Now you are 24, you can earn some money to pay for your piano lessons? I don't get why so many amateurs underestimate the value of learning from good teachers (unless you live in an area with no teacher or you have financial difficulty to pay for one).

By the way, I found playing on a digital piano is a big disservice to this wonderful piece. I don't know how much more can be done on your piano for this piece. It's a very unusual piece for a self-taught amateur to choose by the way. What other repertoires do you play? Do you play any other instrument? (You sound as if you do)

Offline pazzi