Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: why a lot of classical look so disorganised?  (Read 1585 times)

Offline japzz

• PS Silver Member
why a lot of classical look so disorganised?
on: November 09, 2014, 10:28:51 AM
without offending anyone ;)
but....
before starting piano some two years ago I've been playing guitar for 40 years,started getting into jazz about 35 years ago doing workshops etc.....and one thing some of my teachers said about writing scores was this :take a white page of music paper and start dividing each line in four = four bars,makes reading so much easier as most pieces of music can be divided into "logical" parts of 4-8-16-.....bars.and after two years of piano and discovering classical music under the hood so to speak,this also applies to classical music.
So why music editors don't do the same when making the layout of their published works,both classical and light music publications?And I also noticed that,when i asked this question to the few classical teachers i met in the academy where i go for

piano and theory class,it's like the first time somebody makes them think about this issue
as if they never noticed this themselves.
is t it common rule in some academies to :
-divide the lines in four bars
-always use a pencil to write scores

sounds very basic but can save a lot of time and fustration

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Re: why a lot of classical look so disorganised?
Reply #1 on: November 09, 2014, 12:15:11 PM