Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Finger notation - rag/stride style  (Read 4662 times)

Offline onkeltem

Finger notation - rag/stride style
on: November 14, 2014, 04:33:24 PM
Hi all!

Recently I started playing ragtimes and some stride piano songs. The question which troubles me - is the proper finger notation. I don't mean playing at turtle speed - then you may not care about fingers much, I mean playing at normal speed.

Please consider the following piece:
Maple Leaf Rag:

What fingers would you use?

Specifically:
A: 51 or 41?
B: 531 or 421?
C: 531 or 421?
D: 531 or 421?

Thoughts:
A: I incline to 51, though 4 is better for black key, no?
B: 531 seems to be more convenient to play but 5th finger becomes kinda busy, while it is needed for the next bass chord.
C: 421 is my choice.
D: The same as B.

Thanks.

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member
Re: Finger notation - rag/stride style
Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 09:08:11 PM
been playing this for years.

I use those same fingerings for the most part... they work for me

Offline onkeltem

Reply #2 on: November 14, 2014, 09:32:48 PM
I use those same fingerings for the most part... they work for me

Which - same? :)

Offline faulty_damper

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: November 14, 2014, 10:18:43 PM
You choose the fingering that is easiest and most comfortable.  If you are having issues with this, then the real issue is probably how you move your arm.

Offline onkeltem

Reply #4 on: November 15, 2014, 02:49:51 AM
You choose the fingering that is easiest and most comfortable. 

Let me narrow down the matters: 531 or 421 for "B" chord? :)