Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Example of jazz and classical technique combined: Over the Rainbow (tutorial)  (Read 1372 times)

Offline creationrage

I am a classically trained jazz pianist, and in this version of Over the Rainbow (including notes/changes), I used a lot of my classical training for technique and expression. I used my jazz training for rhythmic, re-harmonizational and improvisational alterations. Please check it out and tell me what you think!

Piano Lesson: Over the Rainbow - Improv, reharm, mystery, sadness, surprise (variations):

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member
Wow, you are good--really good.  Like the camera angle :)

it's beautiful-- you are far more adventurous harmonically than I have ever been.  Love the "If I only had a Brain" reference in the intro.

...but then you know I am a fan...   

maybe I need to go back and read Effortless Mastery again... it seemed to work for you.  ;D

Offline creationrage

Thanks a lot dcstudio! Reading Effortless Mastery, along with Kenny repeatedly drilling his concepts into me, finally made me better at focusing on small details instead of always looking forward!

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member

one on one with Kenny--it's no wonder you sound like that.   I've seen a few of his vids and I did read his book years ago.  I will confess that I have been watching your tutorial and using some of your ideas for my rendition of Somewhere--(a song I have been playing since before you were born I would imagine  ;D