Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: (i think) my teacher doesn't take me seriously  (Read 3242 times)

Offline chopincat

(i think) my teacher doesn't take me seriously
on: January 03, 2015, 10:05:18 PM
I've been playing piano for 10 years, and at this point I know I'm not going to be a professional. I'm just not at the level I would need to be at for my age group, and I've come to terms with that. But that doesn't stop me from loving it. I get so much joy out of piano, and making music in general. I'm really passionate about it, and I hope that I can have a music-related career, even if it doesn't involve performing.

Because of this, I want to expand my musical knowledge as much as I can, and take advantage of all the opportunities I can get (and I have a lot of them, living in a big city). But whenever I ask my teacher about things like theory classes or competitions or even trying to pick some of my own pieces, she almost always discourages me and says things like "I think that would be too stressful for you" or "that would be too much for you" or "you don't need to do that." I don't think she realizes just how into music and piano I am, and that's pretty understandable considering I'm not a super advanced student. But I still take it a lot more seriously than she seems to realize, and I wish she would treat me with the same amount of seriousness. I love my teacher and I've had her forever, but right now I'm really frustrated because I feel like we're misunderstanding each other about this. How do I express this to her without being rude or making a fool of myself?

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member