Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Help me reading this part of sheet music.  (Read 1114 times)

Offline bombtrash

Help me reading this part of sheet music.
on: January 11, 2015, 07:04:43 PM
I have uploaded a part of the sheet music below. I have 2 questions regarding how to read that.

1.Look at the red circled part. In treble clef ,the first eighth note has a sharp symbol to it right? now the next note is a quarter note and its connected to the previous eighth note by a tie. Now is this quarter note, F or F#?

2.Look at the blue circled part. What is that bracket with number 3 above those notes in the bass clef? How do I count and play it?

I am new to reading sheet music and I don't even know if u guys can understand my question, nonetheless i've tried my best to put it up despite being a beginner.

Thanks. :D

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: Help me reading this part of sheet music.
Reply #1 on: January 11, 2015, 07:36:19 PM
1. Quarter note is F#.  An accidental affects all notes that follow it in a measure, unless otherwise stated.  Bar lines cancel accidentals.  Subsequent notes in the next measure return to normal (follow key signature), unless they are also changed by an accidental.  Ties carry the accidental along with them. 

2. The notes under the bracket labeled 3 are called a triplet.  Normally one would have 2 eighths to 1 quarter note.  These triplets specify that 3 eighths are to be played in the same time of a quarter note.  Think of it as taking a pie and cutting it into 2 slices, vs taking the same pie and cutting it into 3 slices.