Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Ornaments for the complete newbie  (Read 1372 times)

Offline newkidintown

• PS Silver Member
Ornaments for the complete newbie
on: January 28, 2015, 02:42:52 PM
Hello! Sorry I've made so many topics the past couple weeks, a lot's been happening musically...

My primary orchestra got new music the other day, and one of the pieces is Bach's Concerto for Clavier in D major. Since I only started lessons again a few months ago after five-ish years on my own, I've spent most of the past several years playing whatever I wanted, and that never included Baroque pieces (I was admittedly rather immature). So I'm rather excited to have a good chance like this to dive into Baroque-style playing, and I've learned a lot from rehearsal alone (I don't have another lesson for a couple weeks due to school), I'm just a little unclear on ornaments... Are there certain rules I need to know, specific types of ornaments, etc.? I just don't want to make an idiot of myself when the conductor is offering me such a great opportunity.

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: Ornaments for the complete newbie
Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 05:30:08 PM
This book is a good introduction, it is concise without too much academic ramblings:
https://www.amazon.com/Ornamentation-A-Question-Answer-Manual/dp/0882845497