Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: What brought you guys into playing piano?  (Read 2158 times)

Offline bejarinski

What brought you guys into playing piano?
on: February 14, 2015, 09:35:03 PM
Hi there, everyone!

I started playing the piano at 18 because, at that age, I discovered contemporary music and I felt a sudden urge to write my own, so of course piano is the ideal tool for composition.

I'm just being curious and want to hear some of your stories on why did you pick up piano instead of any other instrument.

Offline iansinclair

• PS Silver Member
Re: What brought you guys into playing piano?
Reply #1 on: February 14, 2015, 10:11:38 PM
Music has been central to my life.  For years I was an organist and choral conductor; now I'm retired.  But...

I don't have an organ in my house, nor room for one -- nor the cash to purchase a good enough electronic one.

But I do have two lovely Steinway grands which need exercise...

so... there you are!
Ian

Offline perprocrastinate

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 14, 2015, 11:12:28 PM
One day, I heard Chopin, and since then, I've developed a profound appreciation for classical piano.

Offline bejarinski

Reply #3 on: February 14, 2015, 11:34:13 PM
Music has been central to my life.  For years I was an organist and choral conductor;

Wow man! Organ is fascinating.
Also, it must be pretty awesome to have two Steinways. I only have one electric piano. But fortunately it is a good one.

One day, I heard Chopin, and since then, I've developed a profound appreciation for classical piano.