Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Dealing with extremely shy student  (Read 3376 times)

Offline missionarymama

Dealing with extremely shy student
on: February 22, 2015, 11:24:36 PM
Hi all,
I am a new teacher, just starting out my second year and I have quite a few young students (5-7yo) One little boy in particular is super shy. Most lessons I can't even get him to touch the keyboard or talk to me. He will be fine as we look at his theory book or play a game, but when it comes to actually playing he freezes! This is so frustrating for both me and his mom, who says he plays fine at home. Any suggestions on what to do to help him open up?

Thanks in advance!

Offline diomedes

Re: Dealing with extremely shy student
Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 12:22:23 AM
Be patient with him and don't show frustration. He'll come around, once he gets used to you. How many lessons so far?
Beethoven-Alkan, concerto 3
Faure barcarolle 10
Mozart-Stradal, symphony 40

Offline fifthelegy

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 23, 2015, 04:44:42 AM
Have you tried physically holding his hands and pressing the keys for him? The shy ones are more difficult to deal with I agree but I find what works most for me is making the lesson more personal. Talk to them more, make a goof of yourself, make it fun and if they are hesitant about doing something, ask them to copy you directly or even try doing it for them.
If he pulls his hand away then it may well be an issue other than shyness.