Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Teaching Montessori Students  (Read 3628 times)

Offline sonata58

• PS Silver Member
Teaching Montessori Students
on: March 01, 2015, 04:47:57 AM
I've been teaching piano for eight years now. I've taught public, private, and home school students. About a year and a half ago, I started teaching private piano lessons at a nearby Montessori school. The school has students from infants to eighth grade, but piano lessons are offered to students ages 4 and up. I have taught about 20 kids at the school (they've come and gone).

I am not very familiar with the Montessori education method, but I have noticed several issues with nearly all the students (with a few exceptions).

• 1. Very short attention spans
    The students are either the fidgety kind or the talkative kind. They can't sit still or are constantly going off on tangents. One will talk for like half the lesson, and then ask me if lesson is over. I'm like, "We haven't even played anything yet!"
  • 2. Very immature
    The students act about half their age. Even the older ones (ages 9-11) act like little kids. One of 10 year old talks like "baby talk". Another 11 year old will throw a tantrum if I have to pull her out of recess a little bit early. I can't believe it!
  • 3. Slow learners