Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: [VIDEO] Please evaluate my wrist height, hand position...everything!  (Read 1488 times)

Offline jacobrudduck

• PS Silver Member
I am currently going through a crisis of faith with my piano technique. I have been self-taught for years and now I am worried I have done it all wrong.

Mostly the main concerns are of my wrist height, I think it is too low. I also suspect my hand position is incorrect at times, as sometimes my index finger of my right hand collapses at the DIP joint, especially when playing scales.

Here is a short video of me playing. I am practising Mozart's Rondo Alla Turca, some major scales and some chromatic scales. Ignore the audio, it for some reason did not sync so I just muted it after the first section.

I hope you can actually tell anything from this video.

Offline chopinlover01

• PS Silver Member
I'd hold your wrist *just* a bit higher, but that's more personal taste.
If you wish to keep your DIP joint (is this the nail joint? Either way this is still applicable) from collapsing, try playing from the literal tips of your fingers.