Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Looking for feedback on a WIP piece  (Read 1077 times)

Offline bustthewave

• PS Silver Member
Looking for feedback on a WIP piece
on: April 04, 2015, 04:20:11 AM
Hey guys. So a friend of mine has begged me to play at her wedding despite my insistence that I am far from a professional. This is the most challenging piece of the ones I'm doing (Melodies of Life, originally composed by Nobuo Uematsu, piano rendition by Michael Huang). I've spent about 3 months on it so far, and have about a month left to fine tune it/finish it. I don't have a teacher (can't afford one right now) and I'm getting nervous.

Specifically with this piece, I'm struggling with pedaling. Half pedaling on my piano doesn't seem to sustain the bass notes at all (I'm not sure if that's normal, or if it's a problem with my sustain pedal), which causes me some issues with the many left hand arpeggios.

Secondly, I've been trying really hard to ensure my dynamics are good. There's a lot of places in this piece where the melody feels like it should be rising and falling in intensity to me, and I'm not sure I'm doing it justice.

Lastly, the difficult runs. I have very little experience with runs. I've been practicing them rigorously with a metronome, and trying to play them with a proper technique (difficult without a teacher). I'm wondering if I'm headed in the right direction with them.

Having trouble getting the youtube video to appear. Here's the link while I work on that:

Link to sheet music:
https://www.geocities.ws/ercchn/melodiesoflife.htm
If it would be easier, I can upload each page as an image.