Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Training Bach Pieces & technique  (Read 3428 times)

Offline mozbee

Training Bach Pieces & technique
on: July 08, 2015, 03:05:43 PM
Hello everyone~! I have always seen teachers teaching Bach pieces starting from short pieces , then, inventions , then sinfonias , then the famous well tempered clavier(WTC) pieces..
But when i started playing the WTC pieces , i suddenly felt a limit toward melody direction(Hand direction) and my hands usually become lost in playing the lines. Just like pieces with 4 voices.. Am i playing bach's pieces that are too advanced for my current skills and techniques? If yes, Am i following the correct order of difficulty?
On the other hand, Playing Czerny opus 299 was still okay for its demanding techniques, But when i moved on to Opus 740, I suddenly felt a Drastic Change in the difficulty. How do those pianists play those types of etudes that require high demand of Powerful techniques that are hard to achieve? Just like chopin's etude opus 10 no 4 and opus 25 no 11.
How can i overcome these difficulties? :'( :'( :'( :'(

Offline gustaaavo

Re: Training Bach Pieces & technique
Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 04:01:16 AM
If you've mastered a sinfonia or more, it would be a logical step to go for one of the easier P&F of WTC (e.g. C minor or D minor of book 1).
But, for example, it'd be crazy to jump directly to C# minor (book 1).