Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Pain after long practice sessions?  (Read 3802 times)

Offline stor314

Pain after long practice sessions?
on: July 16, 2015, 10:33:04 PM
Hi, I am self taught and I have been playing for 6 months.  For some reason I started learning Chopin's Etude op 10 no 1, and although I was able to get it up to moderate tempo, I believe I may have hurt myself by doing so.  I now know that I should not have started this piece without having a proper technique, that's not what I am here to discuss. Over the past couple of days I have felt some pain in my right forearm, wrist and fingers.  It doesn't hurt when I am playing piano.  But when I am not, I will randomly feel tinges of pain shooting through some of my fingers or in my wrist.  Is this bad? I have restrained from playing for the past two days, and it seems like it is getting better.  Is this an injury or just fatigue? I realize I need to change my technique when I return to play as well.

Offline pianoplayer002

• PS Silver Member
Re: Pain after long practice sessions?
Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 11:00:36 PM
Any pain related to piano playing is your brain telling you "son, you are doing something that's gonna hurt you. stop before you get an injury.". This means you are doing something wrong and need to work on your technique. It is not just fatigue, allthough fatigue tells you you have poor technique, too. Op 10 no 1 should not give you any pain, or fatigue.

Offline stor314

Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 11:19:27 PM