Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: What "level" would the average pianist that has been playing for 3 years be at?  (Read 10441 times)

Offline salim

Reason being I've been playing for almost 3 years and am wondering where the average person would be for playing this amount of time.. As in, what grade pieces they are able to perform properly?

Offline mjames

• PS Silver Member
It's not about how long you've been playing

it's about how well you practice, how much you practice (whether its consistent or not), and you talent.

Personally I've been playing for almost 3 years and I'm having no trouble studying my current repertoire. I just 'finished' working on Rach's op. 3 no.2, chopin nocturne op. 9 no.1, and schuberts sonata fantasie first movie. I can play them decently. There are improvements that can be made but overall I'm satisfied with my studies.

Whenever I work with pieces that are significantly difficult than what I'm usually used to, along them  I always work on stuff that are usually technically and musically accessible. Hence the Schubert landler, and the scriabin mazurkas. They're not too bad.

Also it's not about what you play, but how you play it.

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member

exactly. i find my level/grade goes up when i play sitting down. i am definitely less good if i play while standing.

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member