Piano Forum

Topic: Arpeggiation of Scriabin prelude Op. 15 n. 3  (Read 1497 times)

Offline pistache_note

Arpeggiation of Scriabin prelude Op. 15 n. 3
on: August 20, 2015, 08:43:36 PM
Dear users of pianostreet,

Currently I am studying a Scriabin prelude (Op. 15 n. 3). In the first measure on the second beat three notes are played in the left hand while four notes are played in the right hand. This occurs many times throughout the piece. How should these arpeggios be played? Perhaps as 3vs4?

Thank you in advance,

Pistache_note

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Re: Arpeggiation of Scriabin prelude Op. 15 n. 3
Reply #1 on: August 21, 2015, 09:10:53 AM
Hi, I'm not sure what piece you are on about, in these situations if you can provide a screenshot you'll get a lot more feedback.

Do you have a rhythm for 3/4 (assuming this is how you should play it)

It's something I used to struggle with when I was learning one of Chopin's Nocturnes, sounds silly but my piano teacher would tell me to sound out the words "dear little daffodil" with the syllables representing the notes starting with the first of both notes and proceeding to the 2nd of the 4 on "li"
dear - li - ttle - daf - fo - dil so L+R - L - R - L - R - L

Helped me out a lot, may not work for all.
"England is a country of pianos, they are everywhere."

Offline pistache_note

Reply #2 on: August 21, 2015, 11:33:37 AM
Thank you for your reply. Here is a screenshot of the first two measures.

Offline imaginatorium

Reply #3 on: August 21, 2015, 12:00:08 PM
First, I think an arpeggio is normally played by spreading out the notes, but near the beginning of the note value. In other words, if you have a four-note chord, arpeggiating it is not the same as playing the notes at a quarter of the whole chord value. In fact, generally you play them as fast as is consistent with elegance and your dream of being a harpist.