Piano Forum

Topic: Students who are double jointed...  (Read 14656 times)

Offline perfect_pitch

• PS Silver Member
Students who are double jointed...
on: August 26, 2015, 01:50:23 PM
Hey users...

Interesting question from a teaching point of view. Has anyone taught students who are double jointed? I've never had a student who's double jointed until now, but he seems to have trouble with playing with fingers 4+5.

What does being double jointed mean - does anyone have any experience, or is anyone here double-jointed?

How does this affect students???

Offline roncesvalles

• PS Silver Member
Re: Students who are double jointed...
Reply #1 on: August 26, 2015, 02:27:03 PM
I'm a student who is double jointed on my left hand's 2.   The finger collapses (backwards...or upwards if you like) when a lot of pressure is applied on the finger pad, but I've yet to find any real hindrances caused by it.  If the finger has a gentle curve while playing, it's really not that noticeable, but if I play flat fingered my finger collapses pretty easily.  The only possible thing that I could imagine could go wrong for me is when playing with a lot of forearm/wrist movement, if the finger collapses, the hand could move downwards, putting other fingers out of position.    If the fifth finger is double jointed on a smaller hand, there may be some problems with octaves. 

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 03:08:11 PM
I am double jointed in all of my fingers and have small hands and I am experiencing what the previous poster wrote about, problems with stability in large streches. The issues are mainly caused by my thumb and pinky joints. The middle joint of the 4th collapses quite badly too, but it seldoms bothers my playing that much, just looks bad.