Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Total beginner, Am I using wrong fingering for left hand chords?  (Read 3242 times)

Offline samtheman2

Hello everyone,

I have a keyboard at home and I have a basic knowledge of music cause I can play guitar a bit. So I'm basically started playing some keyboard by ear, using right hand to play melody and using left hand to play a chord where necessary. My problem is when playing simple chords from left hand I find

1,2,5 fingering easier than 1,3,5 fingering for a basic chord. Since I have no teacher, I want to know  would playing 1,2,5 fingering put you into a disadvantage later on or is it ok use that instead of 1,3,5. I'm asking this as I'm a total beginner, so I have not created any habits yet, so might as well get into good habits early on. Thanks a lot :)
)

Offline bronnestam

• PS Silver Member
The right fingering is the one that you feel is the best for you. Things to consider, though:
- does it really feel comfortable or do you experience unnecessary strain or tension in your hand with this fingering?
- Where do you come from when you land on this chord, and where do you go next? You goal is, as you know already, to make the playing as fluent and as effortless as possible.