Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Right hand wrist pain  (Read 1835 times)

Offline troglodit

Right hand wrist pain
on: September 05, 2015, 12:55:59 AM
Hello fellow pianists!
Lately I was starting to feel numb pain in my RH wrist. I would really appreciate anyone pointing out what I might be doing wrong.
First I'll explain my situation- I started playing when I was 6 years old with a teacher. At about 12 I stopped playing, and about one and a half years ago I heard a Chopin valse and that's inspired me to play again :) I'm 17 years old.
Since then I play almost every day, varying from half an hour to three hours. I can play valse brilliant, fantasie impromptu, some Mozart sonatas and parts of liszt'z insane pieces that I like very much, like totentanz and mephisto valse.
The pain that I have now is not something new, I had it when I over-played the Chopin winter wind etude about half a year ago, but at that time I went on a vacation for a month, and it was over.
Now I'm feeling that kind of numb pain again, mostly when I don't play, which is wierd. I try to focus on keeping my hand relaxed, but sometimes I still strain it. I really like playing difficult and powerful pieces, but I'm afraid of injuring my hand permanently... Any tips to keep playing while helping my hand heal and stop hurting for good?
Help appreciated! :)
David

Offline chopinlover01

• PS Silver Member
Re: Right hand wrist pain
Reply #1 on: September 05, 2015, 08:22:53 AM
Play really simple stuff, so that your hand keeps (somewhat) in shape but you don't permanently damage your hand.

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 05, 2015, 12:25:07 PM