Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Question about sight reading massively confused need help asap  (Read 1703 times)

Offline burzum0727

• PS Silver Member
Ok well I started learning the notes on g and f clef. I'm extremely confused now!!! Should I memorize every note before I play anything and then read. Or should I be figuring it out while I play and read? I have a program that teaches me the notes and it works I have after a few minutes a decent grasp of recognizing the notes, but I cannot literally read music because first off havent learned the bass clef really at all yet. I have the treble clef decently. I don't know where to go from here. I should be learning the notes and be able to recognize them decently before I try to sight read a piece correct? Please give me answers i  don't want to slow my progress. I'm 26 and I need to get my masterpiece made before I die lol. I need to practice something daily but what that is specifically is confusing me. I know to start off with simple pieces and to recognize patterns while sight reading a piece. But I can't sight read without memorizing the notes  till I can recognize them fluently....

Offline burzum0727

• PS Silver Member
Re: Question about sight reading massively confused need help asap
Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 02:45:46 AM
I guess the overall question here would be should I solely work on note recognition with spontaneous notes for now since I'm just beginning or go through the slow laborious process of trying to play pieces?

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 02:51:56 AM