Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: How did you know ?  (Read 1958 times)

Offline pink_girl

How did you know ?
on: September 27, 2015, 01:02:40 PM
I'm new at the piano and i'm curious, how did you know that playing the piano and taking lessons is for you. Would love to read your posts.

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Re: How did you know ?
Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 08:24:13 AM
Playing the piano and taking lessons are 2 different things ;)

For most I think you are introduced to music at an early age in some form, and that develops in the direction that feels right. The piano should feel the most natural instrument in your hands. I've picked up guitars, violins, tried the drums even a harmonica. I don't get them, in my head I can't connect or get comfortable. I sit at a piano and could play twinkle twinkle for all I care but it feels right.

In general taking lessons, or learning from others you consider better, is simply a must-have for those that want to better themselves, which is in our nature to do so. I am certain there is no great pianist or "child prodigy" that hasn't had lessons. (Please feel free to correct me if i'm wrong there)
"England is a country of pianos, they are everywhere."

Offline bronnestam

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 09:28:30 AM
My grandparents had a big, black upright piano. I wanted to make sounds on it when I was little, but I could not do anything useful.
Later on we had some piano recordings with ragtime music that I truly loved, including the soundtrack to "The Sting" by Marvin Hamlisch. I believe he was my first piano hero. :)