Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Sight reading doctor  (Read 1335 times)

Offline mapleleafthebard

Sight reading doctor
on: October 01, 2015, 01:33:01 PM
Hello everyone,

Hope you're all having a great day.

I am a piano teacher currently putting together a course to help students dramatically improve their sight reading, as I understand this has been a challenge for many; myself included!

This would take the form of a manual with plenty of test pieces and additional tips, plus an instructional DVD for demonstration.

Right now I am trying to gauge interest on this before I go ahead and put the design into its final stages. So, who's interested?

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member
Re: Sight reading doctor
Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 02:20:23 PM
you mean something that works better than practicing sight reading by sight reading music? I always got better at reading by reading more, so opening a fresh hymn for good 4 part reading, and also working on say playing through a bunch of sonatinas or Bach works always did wonders. Not sure what a course would do given that the bread and butter of such an approach can be had by just actually sitting down and trying to sight read, over , and over, and over again.

Offline mapleleafthebard

Reply #2 on: October 02, 2015, 08:29:43 AM
You make a good point. Certainly this is how I learned myself, though I find some need a confidence lift and this would have made easy steps to help that.