Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Nocturne op27 no.2  (Read 4683 times)

Offline ivchks

Chopin Nocturne op27 no.2
on: January 27, 2016, 11:46:34 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am studying op27 no.2 and I got stuck in measures 51-52, I have learnt all the notes and memorised them very well. But when I speed it up it sounds messy and overall horrible. Can anyone be so kind to gimme some advices on how should I deal with them or any recommendations? Your helps'd be much appreciated. thx :)

Offline piulento

Re: Chopin Nocturne op27 no.2
Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 06:50:01 PM
One of the key ingredients in playing these kinds of passages is patience of a saint. This might be an obvoius and annoying tip, but just practice it repetitively until you can do it with your eyes closed. This includes:
-Starting out slowly, and gradually going faster and faster (will surely take time).
-Making sure you remember the fingering by heart.
-Paying attention to proper legato playing.
-Most important (and also hardest) - make sure that when you speed up, you're not doing it as an expression of force, but of accuracy. Don't play fast by moving your hand using force, but by using the "natural momentum" of the passage (Chopin is such a genius, he built this part specifically thinking about what will be comfortable for the pianist, take advantage of that). If you play this passage at full speed and it sounds louder that "piano", you should slow down and practice it some more. Imagine Chopin wrote "leggierissimo" next to the passage.
Have fun! It's a wonderful piece.

Offline xdjuicebox

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 31, 2016, 05:43:32 AM