Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Parents of Obstreperous eleven year old  (Read 2809 times)

Offline love_that_tune

• PS Silver Member
Parents of Obstreperous eleven year old
on: March 19, 2016, 06:15:48 PM
I've been teaching a very long time 50+ years. I just can't shake how upset I am over an incident with a child's behavior and her parents reaction.  I have been teaching this eleven year old for two years.  I also teach her younger sister who is eight.  They both have a half hour of piano and a half hour of voice.  Foolishly, recently I have been teaching them home alone and Mom gets home the last fifteen minutes due to a job change.  Last week the eleven year old, who has been losing interest, was giving me eye-rolls, big sighs and moans throughout her lesson.  When I was finished, I suggested that her Mom discuss with her whether she is really interested in taking lessons anymore due to her behavior and get back to me and let me know what's up.

From there I am in this world of insanity.  So the next week I wait to hear from the Mom.  I email her twice requesting to know what's up.  I finally get an email saying the Dad was supposed to send me an email and she's swamped at work, so let's skip this week.  Great.  So four lessons in the middle of a seven lesson afternoon, I found out two hours before, are being cancelled.

Next day I email again.  "I want an explanation".