Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Franz Liszt, Liebestraum #3  (Read 2644 times)

Offline yzou2

Franz Liszt, Liebestraum #3
on: March 28, 2016, 05:30:16 AM
I am an enthusiastic Piano amateur. This is the first topic I post a topic in Pianostreet.com. It's great to see that there is a forum for everyone helping each other in playing piano!

Liebestraum # 3 is my favorite piece. I want to play it well so badly. I have spent more than 2 months on learning only this piece (average 1-2 hours/day), and try my best to improve playing this piece. However, since I am a self-learner, there will be something I ignored. So hope you guys could provide some comments about my current performance. Any comments and suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

Offline xdjuicebox

• PS Silver Member
Re: Franz Liszt, Liebestraum #3
Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 06:08:56 AM
Some tidbits:

-Make the melody clearer in general
-Cleaner pedaling
-Cleaner LH during the arpeggiated parts, you want them smoother (I'll go into detail later)

Good job! It was pretty clean in general. Here's what I think though.

In general, it sounds kind of robotic. All of the notes are perfectly in time, and roughly the same volume, and you don't really want that.
First thing's first; you have to sing the melody. "Dolce cantabile" (at least that's how I remember the score, I forget), so really sing it, and make it really sweet. The piece is called "Liebestraume," which translates to "Dreams of Love" I think. Loving, sweet, and really sing it. Like you love the person. There's a poem on the front cover of my edition, you might want to read that.